Blogger awards and sharing the love.

I hold my hand up unashamedly and admit that I am very much a ‘carrot’ rather than a ‘stick’ person when it comes to incentives.  Praise and recognition, although not the primary reason for doing anything in my life, are always nice to receive.

So I love the idea of blogger to blogger awards.  It never fails to give me a real boost when I get a lovely message popping up to tell me that a fellow blogger has nominated me for an award.  On this occasion it was Osyth nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award; thank you so very much Osyth.

If you don’t know Osyth’s blog, you can expect posts which are witty, insightful and interesting.  There’s a real mix of treasures, drawn from her life and loves in France and her tales from along the way.  I also really respect that – like me – she only uses her own photographs.  Curious?  Go have a look: Osyth.wordpress.com!

 

Rules for the award go like this:

  • Thank and link to the person who nominated you
  • List the rules and display the award
  • Share seven facts about yourself
  • Nominate 15 other blogs you enjoy, then comment on their posts to let them know that you have nominated them

 

So here are seven of my little loves and hates:

  • One of my very best friends and I are pregnant at the same time and due to deliver our babies just weeks apart.  A total coincidence but something that makes me incredibly happy.
  • I have a serious weakness for cake.  Lemon cake of pretty much any variety, coffee cake and carrot cake probably being at the top of the list.  However I will eat almost any type of cake put in front of me with gusto and a smile on my face, especially if it is homemade.
  • I’d love to live in Italy some day.  I know it’s not perfect – nowhere is – but I just love the country, the people, the food, the language, the architecture…
  • I hate wearing high heels.  I love looking at them and love the elegance they lend to a look, but they are just too uncomfortable to be bothered with most of the time.  Four years in SE Asia, living in flip-flops has done nothing to improve my shoe attitude problem!
  • We used to have a lady who helped around the house, but I couldn’t handle someone being in my home all the time.  In the end it felt more like a punishment than a perk.  The place is not as clean and tidy anymore, I am busier, but I feel immeasurably happier.
  • I would love to be able to time-travel backwards.  Serious history books, stuffed full of dates and references, are not my thing really, but I find the personal, social elements of everyday history fascinating.  What people ate, wore, thought about; family life, daily concerns… Oh to be a time-travelling fly on the wall.
  • Personal ‘to do’ lists and long-term planning comfort me.  It doesn’t necessarily matter to me if living life means that the plan changes or the ‘to do’ list doesn’t get done. Which is just as well, as that happens a lot! It’s just a way to focus my thinking.

 

And last, but not least, 15 blogs I would like to nominate for the Very Inspirational Blogger Award. In the past when I’ve been thinking about nominees I’ve gone for blogs I already know and love.  This time I thought I’d try a different approach and find entirely new blogs to inspire me.  I’ve come to realise that I have a lot of very visual blogs that I follow, so these new ones are much more focused on written content.  Every one offers thought-provoking posts and a fascinating read.

I’m not going to give you any more clues about them.  Just get a brew and a biscuit (or two…or three!), get comfortable, and settle down for some great reading.  I really hope you check them out and enjoy them as much as I have so far:

 

Finally, following the Awards-acceptance theme, it seems fitting that the closing words should go to the wonderful Meryl Streep and her Oscar acceptance speech for The Iron Lady:

“When they called my name I had this feeling I could hear half of America going, “Oh no! Oh, c’mon why? Her? Again?” You know? But, whatever.” 

Meryl Streep, Actress in a Leading Role, The Iron Lady, 2011

 

9 thoughts on “Blogger awards and sharing the love.

  1. Osyth

    Love your ‘insights’ … I’m clearly a closet Pinocchio (appropriate given our shared love of Italy) but I really do love finding out a little more about a person a little more that they are willing to share! High-heel comment makes us soul sisters … go you – I love your blog and could not possibly have nominated without yours 🙂
    Now off to read your nominees – hi diddly de dee a bloggers life for me 😀 x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you, Osyth! It genuinely does mean a great deal to me…especially as it appears that we are footwear soul sisters, destined to end up in Italy some day, getting fat and happy on gelato, cheese, and wine! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a comment