Merry go round moments – week 26.

Family fun: top shot.

 

Sibling love

These two. They just want to cuddle all the time. Story time before nursery, but I couldn’t resist getting a photo of them first!

 

Memories are made of this.

This week the nursery took the children out on a ‘jungle walk’ in the area around the school.  There are actually macaque monkeys in the area, as well as cobras, and scorpions.  Thankfully none of those were around that day! Little man in his pram, his big sister striding out confidently. She was so full of excitement afterwards, telling me all about it. She loves being outdoors, ‘going on adventures’ as she puts it.  She is going to love our next posting location for the ability to spend more time outdoors.  Most people here look at me like we are slightly insane for wanting to leave hot and humid weather, for temperate, windy conditions.  But for a family with young children I think it is going to work infinitely better.

 

Laugh out loud.

Our little man and his buddy Charlie, rolling about together, eating musical instruments.  I’d like to say ‘playing’, but I think the musicality was a happy coincidence!  They were both having a brilliant time though.  And while they did that I got to sit with Charlie’s mummy, eating cake and chatting.  One of the very pleasant surprises of motherhood is the ability to meet lovely new friends, relatively easily.  Sofia is one of those people I really wish I’d met earlier, and will be sad to leave when we finish our stint here in the summer.  We have got into a very nice little groove of catching up every few weekends, letting the boys play, whilst we eat cake.  We both bake a cake, we both have seconds of each without any shame, washed down with a lot of tea.  It is a meeting of minds, I like to think!

 

Quick quote.

“I like quinoa. I like gingerbread. I feel they should be kept separate. I’m not in favor of this thing of making kind of raw, vegan chocolate cake and saying it’s as good as chocolate cake. I mean, just eat cake and be done with it. And then have a separate meal of quinoa.”

Bee Wilson

 

Music makes me happy.

John Miles – Rebel.  I am an avid fan of the Desert Island Discs podcast series from Radio 4.  They have such an interesting and varied line up of guests and I really enjoy the gentle yet engaging interviewing style of Kirsty Young. I also really like that there are so often such surprises in the music choices that people make.  It goes to show that you absolutely cannot always judge a book by its cover. The recent show with Dr Dame Sue Ion was brilliant, and I loved that she chose this track.

 

Good times.

We seem to be getting to a point where we can actually all sit together and read stories as a family.  It is one of my favourite things.  The stories are mostly for our little girl, but our baby boy loves joining in, sitting in my lap or with his daddy, banging his fists with excitement whilst we look at the pictures and let him touch the page before we turn over to read some more. The current favourite is Steve Anthony’s Please Mr Panda, which we only got on Friday.  Already I think we must have read it twenty times, and our little girl has memorised enough of the words and the basic storyline to sit independently ‘reading’ it aloud, and laughing to herself at the funny bits.  It is beautiful to watch.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Merry go round moments – week 26.

  1. pattimoed

    I love that, Jenny. Baking and eating cake while the kids play. You’re right about the friends you make when your kids are young. The bonds you make at that time can last a very long time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you, Patti! Time with friends for tea and cake is precious to me – a very English thing! Friendships seem to be becoming more important as I get older. Quality over quantity though, and with – coincidentally – a shared love of cake in nearly all cases!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      I know, Kat, where is the time going?! We are still awaiting the paperwork for final confirmation but we are expecting it to be the Falkland Islands – very excited! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    2. jenny Post author

      I know, Kat! Where is the time going?! We are still awaiting the paperwork for final confirmation but we are expecting it to be the Falkland Islands – very excited! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Kat

        This is exciting! You’re the first person I know who will be moving to Falkland Islands – looking forward to read your updates once you have settled down there 🙂

        Like

        Reply

Leave a Reply

