Family harmony.

It has just been Mother’s Day (in England) and today is International Women’s Day, so naturally I have been thinking a bit more than usual of the important women in my life.

11953406_953319354706831_6723864159486707298_o-1

“You don’t get harmony when everybody sings the same note.”

                                                                                          Doug Floyd

I think there are probably very few quotes which so entirely sum up a happy family dynamic.  Harmony is always there somewhere, even if it isn’t always apparent on the surface.

I look at how lucky I am with the family I have.  And I really am. Whether near, far, lost or loved, my family make me who I am today.  None more so, I don’t think, than my mum.

We are the best of friends, we are family.  She is the most incredible granny to my two children.  She has a huge heart, and a caring, generous soul.  She is one of the smartest people I know.  She is courageous.  She is beautiful, both inside and out.  She makes me eternally proud to be her daughter. (She will tell me off next time I FaceTime her for this slushy and public display of affection and praise for her!).

We aren’t always in harmony. Mostly we are though, and I miss her like mad because she is literally half the world away.  I miss her.  Every single day.  But even when the music is at its least beautiful, I still feel blessed and grateful beyond measure to call her my mum, my friend, my confidante, my mentor.

Happy International Women’s Day to not just my mum, but all the amazing women I know.  I love that we don’t all sing the same note.  Doesn’t that make our song all the richer?!

11951496_953319118040188_2454434035131812495_o-1

 

6 thoughts on “Family harmony.

  1. Osyth

    What a lovely tribute to your family and to your mother in particular. To have the example of a wonderful woman to follow is a gift to your own children. It really is paying it forward in the truest sense.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

