Merry go round moments – week 24.

Top shot: family fun.

DSC_0470-1

Here’s my gorgeous girl, making play dough carrots and then feeding them to the rabbit. She spent ages cutting the play dough, rolling it, shaping it like carrots. These are the precious moments, watching her beautiful, kind, caring personality shine through.

 

Memories are made of this.

I just submitted my first ever piece for a fiction writing competition.  Come to that, I just wrote my first ever piece of fiction. I was amazed at how nervous and jittery I felt, clicking send after reading it through that one last time; I wasn’t expecting to feel like that about it.

I have no expectations or aspirations in particular; I just wanted to give it a go.  I definitely learned a lot doing it.  I also really enjoyed the creative process.  But I wonder, does it get less nerve-wracking putting yourself out there, the more you do it, or do you just learn to live with it?

 

Laugh out loud.

We have been trying to get the little man to take a bottle of milk since he was really young, with very little success.  Not that it is a huge deal as I am very happy breastfeeding, and most of the time I suspect it is easier than bottles, and formula, and sterilising, and all the accompanying hassle.  Still, to have a little bit of freedom and flexibility every now and then would be very welcome.

This week has been a bit of a tough one, with potty training continuing and everyone laid up with colds.  The children have been working like a tag team, waking us at all hours of the night.  By Thursday night us adults (who don’t have the considerable luxury of a lunchtime nap!) were virtually on our knees.  And as if to reward us for for our patience and perseverance, our baby boy stepped up.  He knocked back a whole bottle – 240ml – then took a breastfeed topper.  It seems odd I know, but I looked at my husband while it was happening and we both actually laughed out loud.  The timing was just so perfect it was comical.  Little man was out like a light until 3am, when he woke for a quick top up and then dropped off again for another couple of hours.  The longest night of sleep I’ve had in ages, and oh what a difference it makes when sleep goes uninterrupted for more than 2-3 hours at a time! Ahhh, those halcyon days of 8+ hours sleep….

 

Quick quote.

“When we were children, we used to think that when we were grown-up we would no longer be vulnerable. But to grow up is to accept vulnerability… To be alive is to be vulnerable.”

Madeleine L’Engle, Walking on Water.

 

Music makes me happy.

Someone should tell you – Lemar.  A chilled out Sunday morning track playing on the radio this morning.

 

Good times.

Mother’s Day (for us Brits at least).  Okay, so we were all up at 5am, as usual.  But I got a beautiful bunch of flowers, gorgeous cards which had been personalised and handmade by the kids, and a long uninterrupted gym session this morning, followed by a great thai lunch out with the family.  Nothing fancy, but all little things that make me feel special, and appreciated, and very, very lucky and loved.  A good Sunday indeed.

Having said all that, when exactly do kids start recognising that weekends are supposed to come with a built in lazy morning, at least every now and then? A lie in really would be the most beautiful gift!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Merry go round moments – week 24.

  1. Osyth

    What a beautiful picture of your girlie caring for bunny (I love this bunny so if she ever needs to lend it – I’m the girl to foster!). I can imagine you recalling the baby swigging his bottle for years to come. What a little star. What a pair of stars and I am very glad you had a happy mummies day yesterday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you. Ha – I hate that awful pink plastic bunny, so she is totally yours as soon as little miss looses interest! 😉 I do love both my babies though and you are right, they are both total stars, so they are definitely keepers! Hope you had a good mother’s day too. 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Osyth

        Well thank the Lord for that – I wouldn’t want to imagine you were considering giving them away! The rabbit reminds me of a very bizarre ’boutique’ hotel on the rive gauche in Paris that I stayed in whilst working on something or other about 6 years ago – it had a huge pink light up version of one of those bunny blancmange moulds (about the size of one of those plug in city cars) in the lobby. It did not fit with anything else in the decorative scheme at all … it fascinated me. Morbidly fascinated, you understand!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. jenny Post author

          What a strange choice for a hotel focal point! It obviously did the trick in making it memorable though – perhaps that was the point!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Leave a Reply

