Merry go round moments – week 19.

Family fun: top shot.

DSC_0077

She was actually ‘reading’ this story out loud to her various toys that she had gathered around her inside the tent.

 

Memories are made of this.

Me and his big sister tickling his toes and blowing raspberries on our little man’s tummy.  His whole body was wriggling as he chortled and snorted with laughter.  He is so ticklish it is untrue.

 

Laugh out loud.

All the other mum’s at the nursery school gate are peeling their toddlers off their legs, wrapping their octopus-like arms around the waiting members of staff, who are soothingly trying to stem the flood of tears issuing forth. Mine runs up to the gate, reaches up on her tiptoes to open it herself, and casually throws me a wave without even turning round.  I actually have to chase after her to give her a kiss and a hug and say I will be back later! It makes me laugh – it must look comical.  I don’t envy the other mums (at all!), and I try to take it as a good sign that she is happy, independent and confident, and all those other good things you want for your child.  But perhaps a little less nonchalance would be nice.

 

Quick quote.

‘Give the ones you love wings to fly, roots to come back, and reasons to stay.’

Dalai Lama.

 

Music makes me happy.

Oh, Mr. Sun, Sun, Mr. Golden Sun,
Please shine down on me.

Oh Mr. Sun, Sun, Mr. Golden Sun,
Hiding behind a tree     [peekaboo from behind your hands]

All of these children, they are asking you
To please come out so they can play with you.

Oh Mr. Sun, Sun, Mr. Golden Sun,
Please shine down on,
please shine down on,
Please shine down on me.

This is one I learnt relatively recently at a ‘baby jingles’ group.  I love it because it feels very 1930s, almost Cole Porter-ish (I’m a bit of a closet geek about old musicals and black and white films).  It’s got a lovely little melody, and just feels very sunny and upbeat. A perfect match to the lyrics, really. And the little man loves it too.  Which is just as well, because it is truly stuck in my head this week.  I sing it to him every time he is lying on his changing mat, so I can do all the actions and the peek-a-boo moment with him.  Hopefully he won’t get bored of it before I do!

 

Good times.

I try to rotate toys so that only a limited selection of what we have is out at any one time.  It stops our home looking like a full-blown toyshop for one thing!  But more importantly, it means that when old favourites are brought out again, our girly is genuinely excited to see them.  The pop-up play circus tent that her Granny sent her has been stored away for the past few months.  I installed it in our girly’s bedroom this week as a surprise for her when she got back from nursery. She ran into her room, grabbed her duvet, her pillow, a stash of books, all her dollies and teddy bears, plus the picnic hamper of pretend food and essentially barricaded herself inside! Suffice to say it was a struggle to get her to come out for her lunch.  Her new favourite place to be.

2 thoughts on “Merry go round moments – week 19.

Leave a Reply

