Merry go round moments – week 15.

Family fun: top shot.

DSC_0254

Such a genuine, eyes-closed hug of joy, finding this ENORMOUS dolly at Grandma’s house!

Memories are made of this.

Sitting in my mum’s front room, watching our girly playing in a laundry basket ‘boat’ at my brother’s feet, whilst my sister played with the little man, as he cooed and gazed adoringly at her.  With me in Brunei and my brother in Qatar, and all of us living our own busy lives, getting us all in the same room at the same time is a rare and precious thing.

 

Laugh out loud.

Two defining traits of toddlerhood?  Curiosity and bossiness! When she wants someone, she will open with ‘What you doing?’, before moving on to ‘you need to come with me!’ or ‘you need to play with me!’ or my current favourite is ‘you’re not listening to me!  Please, you need to sing a song for me!’.  All said while she looks up at you with these big doe eyes, holding tight on to your hand, trying to pull you over to wherever it is she is wanting to go.  And the ‘What you doing Grandad?’ over and over just cracked him up – it is one that will stick I think.  One of those things that family remember, and remind you of, even years after you are grown.  I hope so at least.

 

Quick quote.

‘What can you do to promote world peace?  Go home and love your family.’

Mother Theresa.

 

Music makes me happy.

The big ship sails on the ally ally o.  Sung at full volume, whilst wobbling about in her laundry basket boat, trying to do a deep voice for the captain, and waggling her finger along with the ‘it will never never do’ line.  Super sweet.

 

Good times.

One final coffee date with my friend Katy, for this holiday at least.  Our friendship formed when she ran a scuba diving business and trained me from novice all the way up to dive professional.  She is one of the most wonderful people I know, and we have had some really great times together, in and out of the water.  Distance and children have been barriers for the past few years, but I keep hoping that one day we will have the chance to get another dive in together.  But until then, coffee and chat, and watching Katy goof about with the little man and make him gurgle was a gorgeous way to pass the morning.

 

2 thoughts on “Merry go round moments – week 15.

Leave a Reply

