Merry go round moments – week 10.

Family fun: top shot.

We’re back in the wet season here.  Heavy rains most afternoons and over night.  Our girly is loving all the massive puddles she now has to splash and jump in!  Wellies, shorts and t-shirt – the ultimate tropical childhood!

DSC_0055

 

Memories are made of this.

Going for a family meal out at our local Japanese restaurant.  It was a bit of an experiment really.  I love Japanese food and (vegetarian) sushi, but my husband is not so keen, and our girly had never come with us before.  What a hit – she loved it and even her daddy found some dishes he liked!  Beef teppanyaki, garlic rice and cucumber maki – perfect toddler food apparently.  She was super intrigued by the chopsticks I was using, but as we’re still working on using a fork, I think we’re a way off chopsticks yet!

 

Laugh out loud.

Today our girly made a fairy wand with her daddy out of wrapping paper, a cardboard tube and lots and lots of glue and glitter. They both had so much fun working on it together.  She will be sparkling for weeks I should imagine!

When it was done I asked her what wish she had.  She said she wished for chocolate cake, and a cookie, and strawberries.  Then I asked about her wishes for her daddy, me, and her little brother.  She said she would turn daddy into a frog, me into a chicken, and her brother into a rabbit.

Now, I’m wondering how it is that she gets cookies and cake, whilst the rest of us undergo a transformation spell?!

 

Quick quote.

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.”

Albert Einstein.

 

Music makes me happy.

I heard my first Christmas music this week.  Probably very late compared to many other places, but Christmas is ‘not allowed’ here in Brunei so I’m quite pleased to have heard it at all.  I’ll admit that although I love Christmas and the festive season, I can find the non-stop carols and Christmas songs a bit wearing after a while.  But right now, I am loving Chris Rea’s driving home for Christmas. It reflects how I feel entirely and just makes me feel really Christmassy. I am so excited that we are soon to be going home to see friends and family.  Counting the days!

 

Good times.

For the first time since our little man arrived, the girly and I had some lovely mummy daughter time down at the swimming pool this weekend.  Just a couple of hours.  Even so, it was really precious, being able to give her my undivided attention.  We are very lucky as she’s become so good at sharing me, and is very understanding really, considering how young she is.  But it did make me think that – when possible – I need to make a special effort to have more girly time, just the two of us.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Merry go round moments – week 10.

  1. Osyth

    Oodles of fun – how delicious these snippets are! The glitter made me laugh out loud when I remember those years and years of glittery fun – happy happy memories for me happy happy memories being made for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      She always does! It’s going to be a sad day when a walk down the road takes the ‘correct’ amount of time because we haven’t had to stop to jump in every puddle along the way!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

