Merry go round moments – week 8.

Family fun: top shot.

This week it had to be both the ‘before’ and ‘after’ shots.  She had such an amazing time at the beach.  But what were we thinking?  Next time we are taking her in her swimmers!

DSC_0089

Dancing on the spot she was so excited to get her feet wet.

DSC_0134

It was an incremental thing. Just her toes to start with, then up to her ankles, then her knees. She was always gong to end up soaked through!

 

Pause for thought.

I’m sickened by the terror attacks on Paris; yet another very black day in the modern history of humanity. But I find myself feeling increasingly uncomfortable, as I notice the wave of Facebook profile pictures changed to show solidarity, the many many posts on my Twitter and Instagram feeds honouring those injured and lost.  Where was the same global outpouring of public support, grief even, for the people of Lebanon, suffering their own loss at the hands of terrorists, two days earlier?

Someone with the handle @karunaezara, was quoted by someone I follow on instagram.  She says it so well:

“It is not just Paris we should pray for.  It is the world.  It is a world in which Beirut, reeling from bombings two days before Paris, is not covered in the press….Say a prayer for Paris by all means, but pray more, for the world that does not have a prayer, for those who no longer have a home to defend. For a world that is falling apart in all corners, not simply in the towers and cafes we find so familiar”.

 

Memories are made of this.

Our girly jumped totally independently into the swimming pool for the first time this week.  All by herself – no arm bands, no waiting arms to catch her, no coaxing words of encouragement.  She just saw her four year old idol do it, and immediately followed suit! I don’t know who was more surprised – her or her daddy.

I thought her daddy handled it very calmly, considering he had to very quickly get to the right bit of the pool to hoik her up on to her feet and shower her with praise before she noticed that she’d been a bit panicked by getting a faceful of water up her nose!

 

Laugh out loud.

I had a friend round for coffee and cake during the week.  Her son was born the same week as I gave birth to mine. It was a lovely opportunity to catch up with her and let the boys have some social time too.  My little man’s first playdate.  Lying side by side on the baby mat, both boys looked like two proper little rogues.  With a glint in their eyes, all cheeky smiles and that gorgeous irresistible chubbiness that young babies carry off so well.  It made us laugh out loud.

 

Quick quote.

“If we are to teach real peace in this world, and if we are to carry on a real war against war, we shall have to begin with the children.”

Mahatma Gandhi

Music makes me happy.

Good day sunshine – the Beatles.  What better way to start the day than cuddles with my babies, singing along as we listened to the Beatles?  This song is my all time favourite Beatles track.  Guaranteed to make you feel happy.

 

Good times.

Two sleeping children in the back of the car, nothing and nowhere to rush off to, take away coffees on the go, chatting with my husband about our plans for our upcoming holiday in England. With a toddler and a baby in the house, we don’t get much time together these days when we can have an uninterrupted conversation! Sometimes it’s the little things.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Merry go round moments – week 8.

  1. Osyth

    As ever a lovely insight – boys lolling babyliciously on the mat, coffee with a friend, swimming pools and little girls hurling themselves there, daddy having to be in the right place at the right time and calm. Paris. Paris has us reeling here a few hundred km south. In defense of the French the Beirut bombing was well covered here. IN defense of social media at least people are finding a hook to stand together on. My worry is that in a few days the status quo of laissez faire will prevail and the opportunity to give the cloud a golden lining will be lost.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      I so hope that the status quo and general social and political apathy don’t win the day, Osyth. Living in France, even so far from Paris, you must feel it particularly strongly. Like you, I have my worries. Please don’t get me wrong – I think the overwhelmingly positive response to the awful happenings in Paris shows the truly wonderful side of people’s humanity, empathy, and compassion. I don’t think anyone – individually or collectively – needs to defend their actions in that respect. I guess it just saddens me that at times there just does not seem enough love, respect and compassion to go around the world equally. Life is tough and life isn’t fair, and sometimes that’s just the way it is – I know that. But it still makes me feel sad and frustrated for the world we live in.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Osyth

    And everything you say is absolutely right. You use exactly the right words – love, compassion and respect. It starts at the top and most of the issue is the big guys getting involved in areas that are frankly none of their concern. And then the little guys – the you and I reflected all over the globe become the victims. I believe in love and in peace – like you, I raised my children. You are at the start of that journey, I’m a little further along but they remain our children those wonderful maleable lumps of constant amazement and I want them, I want all children to have a future filled with wonder and joy. Not this. Not this. I’m often accused of being naive … I don’t think I am. I think I am hopeful. Bises to you and yours and keep writing your wonderful words … they give a tired old bag in France much joy 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you, Osyth. Politics…it’s just such a messy, awful business, isn’t it?! I don’t think you are naive; if you are I am too. I think we all have to have hope. I love writing these posts, and wouldn’t dream of stopping, not even on the craziest of weeks! But your lovely words are always so heartening to hear and make it even more of a pleasure to write them, so thank you. Oh, and of course, bises à toi aussi! x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

