Treats all round.

DSC_0028_02-2 DSC_0043 9-1 DSC_0047 8-1

Just look at this beauty – a female Wreathed Hornbill.  Isn’t she a stunner?

Living in Brunei I am fortunate to see a lot of Oriental Pied Hornbills, which are just the most amazing birds to watch. A real treat.  But I’d not had the pleasure of spotting any other Hornbill species in more than four years living here.

So I couldn’t believe my luck when I met this gorgeous Wreathed Hornbill during a holiday in Kota Kinabalu.  She was a rehabilitated bird, resident at the resort.  As such it didn’t give me quite the same thrill as seeing her as a properly wild bird, but it was still a real treat for me, nonetheless.

As for her treat? Well, it turns out that this rehabilitated Hornbill had a bit of a weakness for frozen chips!!  Yes, okay, so they are omnivorous birds, but that diet usually runs to fruit, small reptiles, frogs, crabs, birds eggs…frozen chips are most certainly not standard Hornbill fare.

Once I realised her weakness, I watched out for her sneaky trips to the kitchen back door.  I must have seen her begging for chips at least once every day for the entire five days I was there. Now that is one cunning and adaptable 21st century female!

My entry for this week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Treat.

4 thoughts on “Treats all round.

    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you so much! They are gorgeous birds, and you really appreciate the iridescence of their plumage up close.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

