Learning through play.

‘Be careful what you teach, it might interfere with what they are learning.’

Magda Gerber.

Is there anything or anyone more careful than a toddler trying to execute a new skill or trying to achieve something that really matters to them?

Balancing a beanbag on your head might not seem like much to an adult, but to a toddler it is the pinnacle of careful concentration, skill and learning.  As well as a great deal of fun and a barrel full of belly laughs along the way of course, as the beanbag teeters and topples off, time and again.

Playing is learning at this age.  And it is such a pleasure to witness.

I don’t think she needs teaching as such.  Not yet.  Just the freedom to learn.  So often when I’m watching my little girl just being her, I can see her practically growing and gaining confidence in front of my very eyes.  It is a rare privilege.

DSC_0028-1

Bringing me my camera lens cap, ever so carefully! *Mummy, very grateful it was only the lens cap she’d gotten her careful but still rather clumsy hands on!*

‘Children are not things to be moulded, but people to be unfolded.’

Jess Lair.

DSC_0053

Out for a fresh watermelon juice one afternoon, and keeping herself entertained. *All the cool kids match their play things to their beverage (on their face, and in their glass!)!*

‘Play is our brain’s favorite way of learning.’

Diane Ackerman

DSC_0091_01

Tower building! A favourite activity at the moment. All that care and attention, so that she can delight in the great fun of knocking it down at the end!

My entry for this week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Careful.

4 thoughts on “Learning through play.

  1. pattimoed

    Great photos, as always, Jenny. I love the jelly on her face! It’s the iconic mark of childhood. We used to joke that we would know when our son was “grown up” when he cared about keeping his face clean!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you Patti – you are very kind. I’m totally with you on the messy face thing! I know so many toddlers who always look immaculate. I don’t know how their parents do it! I look on enviously, as mine is usually a scruffy, food-stained mess. But she’s happy, which is the main thing I guess.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

