Changing faces.

My darling boy.  Seven weeks old, sleeping without a care in the world.  His unlined forehead, his barely-there eyebrows, the tiny little button nose.

Beautiful.  But change in babies comes so suddenly.  Before you know it they no longer look like newborn babies, but babies.  They no longer look like babies, but children; their early tiny features grown and changed forever.

At around 6-8 weeks old babies go through a pronounced growth spurt.  They can actually grow measurable in their sleep – isn’t that just amazing?  They really can literally change over night.

So here are his baby-faced features before he outgrows them.  Captured now, cherished always.

DSC_0025 (1)-1

11 thoughts on “Changing faces.

  1. Osyth

    Oh I LOVE reading your words and seeing your pictures. Apart from being a young mummy once upon a time, I was also an anti-natal teacher and I remeber so many experiences from that time. The amazing wonder of the growing baby – those changes that just overnight happen. Life is not just an adventure it is the most extraordinary adventure and you journalise it beautifully 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Haha…young mummy…thank you, Osyth!! Young in spirit! 😉 It must be an amazing thing to be professionally involved in some way with that unique period of preparing for and bringing a baby into the world. We used a doula this time (an absolutely fantastic decision and the best money we ever spent, on almost anything). Although I could never be one, I can totally see why it would bring immense job satisfaction.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Osyth

        It was a wonderful experience … I have so many treasures in my memory bank and consider myself hugely fortunate to have the opportunity. I’m thrilled that your decision to use a doula was such a good one 🙂

        Like

        Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Yes, truly amazing, Chrissy! I feel like I just want to suspend time so that I don’t miss a second. I love watching him grow, and also seeing his personality starting to really shine through. It’s such a special time, even with all the sleep deprivation and tears!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

