Life and love in the stars.

gold stars sq 4-1

“I like the stars. It’s the illusion of permanence, I think. I mean, they’re always flaring up and caving in and going out. But from here, I can pretend…I can pretend that things last. I can pretend that lives last longer than moments. Gods come, and gods go. Mortals flicker and flash and fade. Worlds don’t last; and stars and galaxies are transient, fleeting things that twinkle like fireflies and vanish into cold and dust. But I can pretend…”

(Neil Gaiman – The Sandman

The ‘monochromatic‘ WordPress weekly photo challenge was released on September 11th.  My birthday.  A personal day of celebration, but also an inevitable marker of the passing of time.  And of course it is also a date universally recognised – the anniversary of one of the most shocking acts of terror that the world has ever seen.  The devastating loss of life and tragedy; the horrifying vulnerability.

There’s nothing quite like thinking about the fragility of our place in this world to humble you and make you cherish your lot.

I write this at a point when time seems to be in fast-forward mode and I sometimes wish I could just press pause.  My newborn boy is growing before my very eyes, his cry changing, his features filling out.  Every day my two year old girl is waking up with a raft of new words flooding forth, her beautiful personality bubbling out and making my heart melt, as she lovingly strokes her brother’s tummy to try to calm him.

Even the days when I hear more crying than laughter from them both are precious. My life, my loves, my world.  My little stars.

2 thoughts on “Life and love in the stars.

Leave a Reply

