no, No, NO!!! And getting into character.

I’ve mentioned before that we’re a book loving family. Our little girl definitely already has her favourites.  But when you are reading the same story for the third time in twenty minutes, knowing that the same request will probably happen the next bedtime, based on precedent over the past three nights, you come to think ‘enough is enough!’.  So now we rotate our book stock, if only for parental sanity!

006a_910 copy

Who doesn’t like a good read in the bath?!

The other day I refreshed the book shelves, meaning that Julia Donaldson’s Monkey Puzzle was back in the bedtime stories pile again. I’d always thought it was one of the more popular ones, so I was confused when our little girl spotted it and rushed over to it, shouting ‘no, No, NO!!’.  Even more surprised when she sat down on the carpet, patted the floor and demanded me to ‘sit, sit, sit’, and then proceeded to turn the pages in rapt fascination.

And then I remembered.  The ‘no, no, no’ bit is a recurring line throughout the book as the butterfly tries to reunite the young monkey with his mum. It had been weeks, maybe even months since we’d last read the book together.  Even so, just seeing the front cover had obviously brought back a rush of memories and excitement for my little girl.  It gave me such a lovely feeling, watching her at that moment.

Today is World Book Day, and what finer way to start than with a little light reading?  As expected, that was totally fine with our little one, who has recently gotten into the habit of waking up, calling for us from her cot, and then once she been lifted out demanding ‘story, story’ before we can even change her nappy! As two current favourites, Julia Donaldson’s Monkey Puzzle and Cuddle by Beth Shoshan and Jacqueline East were, of course, on the reading pile. I’ve also recently added a couple of new ones to the shelves – The Magic Beach by Alison Lester, and Millie’s Marvellous Hat by Satoshi Kitamura.  In a rare treat for me – as most parents who read with their children will understand – I am still relishing the newness of these books, having not yet entirely memorised them from endless repetition.  So they were my choices for the morning!

My own reading is taking a bit of an intellectual back seat at the moment.  I’d been wading through The Goldfinch, which is the incredibly long, wonderfully written, but soul crushingly depressing 2014 Pulitzer Prize winner by Donna Tartt. Note the past tense, because frankly, I got a third of the way through (at around 300 pages!) and just couldn’t face anymore.  Too sad, too slow, and as I am reading for pleasure rather than intellectual merit these days, quite honestly, just not gratifying enough!  So in total backlash I’ve just started C’est Modnifique: Adventures of an English Grump in rural France, by Ian Moore.  It’s not a Pulitizer Prize contender; it doesn’t pretend to be.  But it is a welcome opportunity for escapism, a thoroughly enjoyable read so far, and I am wanting to find the time to read on.  And after all, isn’t that what reading should be all about?

Are you reading anything at the moment – to little people or for your own enjoyment? Or is there a book that you’ve recently finished and just couldn’t put down? I’d love to hear your World Book Day recommendations.

9 thoughts on “no, No, NO!!! And getting into character.

  1. Boeta

    He he, one of ours has a red bus in it…he picks it up saying bus, bus…another a lama, but he cannot do L yet, so it is mama, mama…repeated reading, know all about that. He he.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Ahhh, thanks for the lovely comment. I do love this phase of new words, some of the things they say are so sweet! Yes, repetition is definitely the word when it comes to story time!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. pattimoed

    Hi Jenny. Your post brings back wonderful memories of reading to my son, who is now in his 20’s. I am not familiar with your daughter’s favorite books. Our son loved the Curious George series and Goodnight Moon. I had the same reaction to Donna Taart’s book too. I stopped reading around the same spot. The writing is wonderful, but the pace is so slow and sad, that it’s painful to read!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Oh,it’s so heartening to know it’s not just me with The Goldfinch, Patti! I’ve not got anything from the Curious George series or Goodnight Moon, but I do really like getting books from different authors and generations for her, so will see if I can get hold of something. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Mamta Chakravorty

    We love Julia Donaldson’s books. Remember reading Room on the Broom to my son repeatedly till I could take no more 🙂 Currently reading ‘ Fly Away Home’, a book my son put down after reading a few pages saying ‘ it is not a happy book’. I am loving it though, it’s set in World War II and told by a little girl. I don’t find it sad or gloomy. Very beautifully told , War time seen through the eyes of little children. Hope Junior will read the book sometime and appreciate it too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Hi Mamta, yes, Room on a Broom is still a real favourite here! Really like the recommendation for Fly Away Home; it sounds really interesting. I will look that one out. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Osyth

    Oh how that takes me back and how I look forward to the joy of repetitive reading with tinies when they come along wrapped as grandies down the line! Satoshi Kitamura wrote a beauty called ‘When Sheep Cannot Sleep’ that taught all of mine to count. As for me, right now I am reading Rumer Goddens wonderful autobiographies (last read 25 years ago) … A wonderful and inspired writer of such classics as Black Narcissus, her life is equally inspiring. Imagine being a single mother in Kashmir during the Second World War …. I highly recommend ‘A time to dance, no time to weep’ and ‘a house with four rooms’ 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      It’s fantastic isn’t it? I do love story time; it’s a wonderful thing we share each day. Thank you so much for the great book recommendations, Osyth – I will definitely look at getting my hands on all of those.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

