What a difference a few weeks make!

Well gosh, it seems that A all the way to Z on my Word for Wednesdays was enough to leave me utterly without anything to say for a while there!  But I’m back!  Or I’m trying at least…

I figured I’d go with a little warm up post.  A writer’s equivalent to that ‘easing back in to the first session at the gym after months away’ feeling.  After all, there’s nothing like hitting the treadmill, really getting into the zone and loving it for 45 minutes, feeling great and…well, and then realising as you wobble off it that actually perhaps you should have done a bit less and gone a bit slower because you can already tell that tomorrow you are barely going to be able to hobble, never mind run!

It’s not that my brain hasn’t been coming up with lots to think about and share.  But my willpower to sit and focus has been pretty much non-existent, and my general energy levels have been limited to basic daily tasks and essentials only.  Such is the joyous and yet simultaneously life-sapping way of pregnancy in the first trimester.  Or so I have found, anyway!

 

DSC_0001 (1)-1

 

I’d love to be one of those women that breeze through every second of pregnancy and don’t even know the words ‘exhaustion’ and ‘morning sickness’.  I’ve honestly tried, but totally failed.

I really believed that I must have been being self-indulgent the first time round, and that this second time round I’d be less pathetically washed out and sleepy all the time.  Mind over matter and all that. And apparently there really are women for whom this is pregnancy reality!  It’s just that – as it turns out – I’m not one of them.

It’s not that I’m in any way envious or anything (well, just maybe a teeny bit), but I’m more intrigued as to what their bodies do that mine doesn’t, to trick the hormones from wreaking havoc in the way that they do in early pregnancy.  My body was not in the slightest bit fooled by my ‘mind over matter’ outlook, and floored me utterly and completely. But a few weeks into my second trimester life is feeling much, much easier now.

Inevitably, finding time to relax with a toddler always on the go is not as easy as before, but luckily for me she is also very happy to sit and quietly read stories with me.  We’ve been reading a lot of stories of late! But as I am now finally into the ‘blooming, energised’ second trimester, I plan to make the most of it, while the going is good! Now that I’m back at my desk, I might even get some reading in later.  It’s been far too long since I’ve caught up with my favourite blogs!

15 thoughts on “What a difference a few weeks make!

  1. Osyth

    Poor you … I never cease to be amazed that we women go back and do it all again. I guess memory erases what for most is just vile until that 3 month bridge is crossed. Then three months of bounce and bloom and then back across the bridge to get biggerer and biggerer until the baby decides to appear. Enjoy what you can and know that you are giving great pleasure with your writing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you Osyth, I agree entirely – there is a definitely a certain madness to it, going back again after the first time. Hormones are a seriously powerful mind control substance obviously!! Your kindness is much appreciated. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Sarah Longes - Mirador Design

    Welcome back Jenny and congratulations!! What wonderful news 🙂 My best friend Rachel is 8months with her second and like you she really suffers with sickness and fatigue! I do feel for you, I have fatigue too and it’s incredibly hard to explain to someone else just how awful it is. Thank goodness you’re past the worst of it now 🙂 Enjoy this second trimester!

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thanks Sarah, yes, we are very excited! Lovely news for your friend too! I cannot imagine how frustrating and debilitating it must be to live with fatigue. I find it bad enough as a temporary effect of pregnancy. I have great respect for anyone who has to live with it day in day out! Thank you, I am definitely enjoying the second trimester! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Sarah Longes - Mirador Design

        Frustrating is definitely the word! But it is the way it is so I just have to manage my time around it as best I can. I expect you’re positively blooming now 🙂 I’m seeing my friend next weekend and am hoping to get the time to do a facepaint design on the bump!

        Like

        Reply

Leave a Reply

