Grateful, inspired, and full of thanks.

It has been a busy, busy month of change and goings on in life outside of writing, meaning a rather low productivity month on the blogging front.  But at last I have the opportunity to say a very important and long overdue ‘thank you’ to Paula at http://freshpaula.com for nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.  What a pleasure and a privilege.

Receiving awards like these from other bloggers really gives me a lift, and makes me proud to be part of such a supportive blogging community.  Not everything about the world of blogging is sunshine and rainbows, but this is definitely one of the lovelier bits.

 

VIB

 

So, as with all such things, the rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
  2. Display the award on your post.
  3. List the award rules so your nominees will know what to do.
  4. State 7 things about yourself.
  5. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award.
  6. Contact your nominees to let them know you have nominated them. Provide a link to your post.
  7. Proudly display the award logo (or buttons) on your blog, whether on your side bar, ABOUT page, or a special page for awards.

 

Sticking to the rules (for now!), seven things about me:

  • Blues and greens are my favourite colour choices.  I once ‘had my colours done’, and I am apparently a ‘Sprinter Winter’!
  • Lillies make me think of home.  My mum often had them in her house when I was growing up; I bought them most weeks when I had my own place in England; they were in my wedding flowers. I can’t get them out here and I miss them.
  • Oranges are the best thing EVER.  Well, according to my 18 month old anyway.  She would happily eat nothing but ‘jaa-juu’ all day, if I’d let her.
  • Growing up I really wanted to be a researcher for wildlife programmes on the BBC.  My career took a different path, but I still watch the BBC series like Blue Planet in utter awe and wonder of the scenes they show, and the professional skills of the team who bring them to us.
  • Geranium essential oil makes me feel so relaxed and uplifted.  It is one of my all time favourite scents.  I cannot walk past a geranium plant without rubbing a leaf and taking a good long sniff.
  • Early mornings are my best time.  I used to get up early to go swim training before school when I was in my teens, and I think my body has been permanently set.  By 9pm I am hanging on in there, waiting for my bed.  Definitely not a night owl!
  • Rarely do I find anything labelled as ‘comedy’ consistently funny and watchable. The Australian performer Tim Minchin is unusual in having broken through my wall of apathy.  He is a musical comedian (is that a thing?  I don’t know, but that’s how I think of him), and is a very gifted composer and lyricist.  He thinks about the big stuff, and his work is clever, if pretty controversial at times.  One of his less contentious ones, White Wine in the Sun, really speaks to me, and it makes me feel happy and sad, all at the same time.

 

The next bit – nominations!  The rules say to nominate 15, but I’ve gone for less because these are the ones that I thought of straight off the bat, without having to think “right, now, who else….?!”.  If you don’t already know these blogs they are well worth a look.  Truly, very inspirational bloggers, one and all:

I think sometimes social media and blogging can be quite ego-centric and if you aren’t careful it can quickly become a game of numbers.  How many followers do I have?  How many hits?  How many likes? etc etc. That’s not the kind of game I like really.

But things like blogger-to-blogger awards make me feel really quite humble. And also thankful.  Thankful for the recognition from other bloggers that they have enjoyed stopping by at my little corner of the blogosphere.  Thankful for the great reads, the laugh-out-loud lines, the thought provoking posts, the stunning photography, the inspiration that other bloggers give to me. Not always easy, but a philosophy I firmly believe in, in blogging, as in life:

“Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough”

(Oprah Winfrey)

 

2 thoughts on “Grateful, inspired, and full of thanks.

  1. Indah Susanti

    Congratulations!! Thank you so much for the awards! My apology for just replying now. Returning last week and still catching up with some comments. It is an honor to be nominated 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thanks Indah! You are welcome. Don’t worry about delays – things are busy here as well, so I totally understand! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

