Stealing the limelight from feathered friends.

Taupe is not a colour I am usually drawn to, so I didn’t have a raft of photos already in my archives to consider for this week’s colour challenge from Jennifer Nichole Wells.  So I was pretty pleased to find this gorgeous lady today.  I thought she was a lovely shade of taupe.  She was preening her feathers whilst basking in the sun, and was more than happy to model for me.  Even so, she was not my favourite model of the day. Not even close.

DSC_0297-1

That prize goes to this little guy.  Yes, okay he’s still kind of brown, but definitely not taupe.  He’s more an orangey, reddish-brown. But what does the colour matter?  He’s a baby orangutan!!

I have been in Borneo for three and a half years, and this is the first time I’ve seen orangutans.  It was a truly indescribable, incredible experience.  He and another orphaned young male are currently both being rehabilitated at the Rasa Ria Resort Orangutan Sanctuary in Sabah, Borneo.  They roam free on a 64 acre site, fending for themselves and learning to live in the wild.  But they can go to the feeding station for fruit top-ups and some extra sugar cane if they are feeling peckish.  That sugar cane was a big hit, I can tell you!

DSC_0124-1

I have a whole folder of photos of the two young orangutans, but I’ll save them for another post, instead of hijacking this one any further.  She really was a very pretty goose; it’s a shame she was just never going to be able to compete with a pair of cheeky young orangutans for wow factor!

7 thoughts on “Stealing the limelight from feathered friends.

  1. Pingback: One Word Photo Challenge: Olive | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Leave a Reply

