Time for celebratory cake. But definitely no custard!

Gosh, another award!  Big thanks to Lorraine at Tidlidim for nominating me for the ‘One Lovely Blog’ Award. I was beaming from ear to ear when I picked up this message.

The blogging world is still pretty new to me. This is only the second time I’ve been nominated (I say ‘only’ – it is two more times than I ever dreamed of!).  It gives me a real buzz!

It is so motivational, knowing that someone enjoys reading my blog as much as I like writing it. There are some fantastic bloggers out there who have been nominated for more awards than there are letters in the alphabet! All credit to them, too. Maintaining a vibrant blog that people want to keep reading and returning to is such a commitment, and some people keep going for years and years.

But most of all , what a lovely way for bloggers to give each other praise and recognition.

Anyway, as part of accepting the award I have to share seven facts about myself:

  1. I absolutely positively can not make custard. Yes, the instant, fool-proof, anybody-can-make-it kind.  I am a reasonably  competent cook and can do most things I’ve set my mind to in the kitchen, including jams, pastry, and sweets, cakes, and all kinds of complicated curries and savoury dishes.  But instant custard and me just don’t get on.  We can’t all be perfect all the time!
  2. I very nearly went to Madagascar in my early twenties to do some marine volunteering. I chickened out because the cost seemed astronomical to a poor, newly graduated student without a job, and the whole thing just seemed overwhelming.  I really wish I’d been braver and just gone for it.  Although perhaps it’s for the best…I’d have fallen in love with the sea and never left if I’d started diving back then!
  3. I ‘had my colours done’ a few years ago – a special treat girly day with my mum and sister to find out which colours suited us. I loved it!  I am what is known as a ‘Sprinter-Winter’.  Thankfully I love the colours that suit me and already wore a lot of them, so I didn’t need to clear out my wardrobe (is that ‘thankfully’ or ‘unfortunately’?!)
  4. I swam in a competitive swimming club when I was young. Bananas were great energy food, so I ate a lot of them over the years…it got to the point where I physically couldn’t eat them anymore.  I can manage it now, but it took a gap of about 10 years to even contemplate it!
  5. I really want to try silk painting. I love silk scarves and would love to try to create my own.  Only abstract stuff though – I really can’t draw well enough for anything more!
  6. I did a dual honours undergraduate degree, which meant two dissertations. One of them was on the socio-cultural representation of family in Disney films over the years.  There is a lot more to those films than catchy songs, let me tell you!
  7. I am a real believer in essential oils and their properties. I am in the process of completing a course about aromatherapy, and I find it utterly fascinating.

And the bit of the process I most enjoy…sharing fifteen of my favourite bloggers with you.  Some I feel I’m getting to know almost like friends, some I’ve only just had the pleasure of ‘meeting’.  But I find all of them interesting and inspiring and a pleasure to read and share with.  So I would love to nominate them for the ‘One Lovely Blog’ Award, if they’d like to accept.  Passing the baton on, I nominate:

  1. http://miradordesign.wordpress.com/
  2. http://indahs.com/
  3. http://dewetswild.com/
  4. http://linsdoodles.wordpress.com/
  5. http://figmentsofadutchess.com/
  6. http://travelingmarketer.me/
  7. http://largeself.com/
  8. http://jennifernicholewells.com/
  9. http://www.katescreativespace.com/
  10. http://mywordwall.wordpress.com/
  11. http://exploratorius.us/
  12. http://bythebriny.wordpress.com/
  13. http://theurgetowander.com/
  14. http://beautyalongtheroad.wordpress.com/
  15. http://traveltalesoflife.com/

The rules – for anyone amongst my nominees who would like to play – are simple:

  • Thank the person who nominated you for the award.
  • Add the One Lovely Blog award logo to your post.
  • Share 7 facts or things about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 bloggers you admire and inform nominees by commenting on their blog.

And as a little Brucie-bonus extra fact, if you know me at all, you will know that no celebration with me is complete without cake!  I take it as a big compliment that one of my friends recently said to me and another friend ‘you guys never stop baking!  Is there ever a time when you don’t have cake in the house?’  Of course there isn’t always cake, but it does seem a vital addition to girly nights and celebration occasions.

And as it happens, I’m off for a girly night-in later with a bunch of friends.  A Leonardo di Caprio film marathon is expected –he’s not my cup of tea, but the hostess gets to choose, which is fair enough!  I think a bottle of fizz and some of this freshly baked orange and ricotta drizzle cake will be the perfect take along treats.  Much nicer than chewy popcorn and sugary drinks! So thanks once again, Lorraine; any excuse to eat cake is a good one in my book.  I hope you’ll all be joining me in a little slice of cake at some point over the weekend, whatever else you’ve got planned!

006a_060 copy

15 thoughts on “Time for celebratory cake. But definitely no custard!

  1. de Wets Wild

    Congratulations Jennifer! Your blog definitely deserve all the positive attention you’ve been receiving as it is obvious how much you love working at it. Well done!

    And thank you very much for thinking of de Wets Wild and sharing us with your friends and followers. We’re glad to be among them.

    Enjoy that cake, it looks delicious! I’ll also sit all the way through a Leonardo di Caprio movie if that was my reward! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you so much! That is incredibly kind of you.

      You are very welcome – your blog is wonderful and always full of the most stunning photographs that make me want to set off and explore the wilds of Africa! Shame I’m on completely the wrong continent! ;o)

      Haha – I think I’ll enjoy the cake more than the film, but a chilled evening with friends does seem very enticing! :o)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Tidlidim

    Thanks for taking part 🙂 Hope you had a great girly-night and that you enjoyed the cake, it looks yummy!
    And it’s never too late to go to Madagascar or taking up silk painting 🙂 Oh, and aromatherapy courses seem well interesting! I tried to get into it too, but I don’t know, properties of herbs and stuff are just like when I was studying vitamins and minerals in my pharmacy training. All big confoodlesmuchle, I can never remember which does what! Hope you’ve had fun with it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thanks Lorraine – cake, wine and time with girlfriends – what’s not to like?! Hope you had a good weekend too.

      I love the aromatherapy stuff, but yeah, there is quite a lot to remember. It’s all the contraindications that I stress about…was it this one or that one that should be avoided in pregnancy? This one is fine for sensitive skin, but was there something about avoiding sun exposure…I guess it’s all just practice and (hopefully!) it sinks in with repetition. Pharmacy training must have been the same I guess, but super-magnified!

      Oh I do hope you are right about Madagascar. Silk painting seems a more achievable goal for the short term though! ;o)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Tidlidim

        I think what’s helped with the pharmacy training was that I always asked when I wasn’t sure, never took risks. There are always books or the pharmacist at hand. It’s probably the same for you. So don’t hesitate to refer to your studies if you need to. I think it’s easier to learn in context, instead of just factsheets as the info tends to jumble up. Aka if you have a pregnant lady, you search the first time, know what to recommend, and then you will always know every time the same situation arises again 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. jenny Post author

          I totally agree – learning in context is so important, but I refer to my books and use my resources religiously. Always better safe than sorry! :o)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  3. Indah Susanti

    Congratulations Jenny! You have awesome blog and I enjoy reading your post (my fave is the Wednesday one, so much information I can learn from your post – thank you!).
    You can still visit Madagascar, it is still waiting for you! Maybe if not for marine volunteering then you can visit it as a traveler and diving!
    And many many thanks for nominating me! I have to be honest that I am really behind on responding blog awards nowadays. I do feel honored though and really appreciate the awards. Thanks again and hope you are having a wonderful weekend! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you, Indah! You are very kind – and I really love that you enjoy my Word for Wednesday posts so much. Thank you. :o)

      Ahhh, yes, to holiday and dive in Madagascar would be a dream. Hopefully it will happen one day.

      No problem, I totally understand – the awards are so time-consuming! Have a good week. :o)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. ljcillustration

    Congratulations and thanks for the nomination. I enjoyed silk painting when I did a workshop years ago, in fact I still have some paints so I probably should get them out and have another play.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you, and you are welcome! Silk painting looks like such fun, and not too technical, which is definitely in its favour! I’d love to see the end product if you do decide to get the silk paints out again. :o)

      Like

      Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you so much *blushing*! You are very welcome, Jennifer. Hope you enjoyed checking out the other nominees. :o)

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

