Feeling the buzz.

I seem to have super-strengths when it comes to drinking huge quantities of tea, but I confess that when it comes to coffee, I am a bit of a caffeine weakling. I love a good cup of coffee, but the racing-mind buzz overload and borderline palpitations aren’t for me really.  Although I have strayed dangerously close on occasion, on particularly long, stressful days, when only a coffee (or three!) will do.

The whole purpose of places like Starbucks is for people with no decision-making ability whatsoever to make six decisions just to buy one cup of coffee. Short, tall, light, dark, caf, decaf, low-fat, non-fat, et cetera. So people who don’t know what the hell they’re doing, or who on earth they are, can, for only $2.95, get not just a cup of coffee but an absolutely defining sense of self: Tall. Decaf. Cappuccino.

(Joe Fox in You’ve Got Mail).

But today is unusual, in that I have been to a very enjoyable coffee morning round at a friend’s house.  And by happy coincident, it is also International Coffee Day. A celebration of the internationally beloved beverage and a day promoting the virtues of fair trade coffee.

006a_464 copy

And of course you can not have a coffee morning without cake!  Especially not on a day of celebration!  So I gave these cinnamon rolls a whirl.  I have been wanting to make cinnamon rolls for ages, so this was just the excuse I needed.  It meant a busy morning beforehand, although this recipe was way easier than most I’ve seen.  And the pay-out was the dual caffeine and sugar hits.  A winning combination and most definitely worth it!

Although I did not always agree with his rulings, I enjoyed Judge Huffman and his personality.  He truly enjoyed the courthouse camaraderie. Every year he would bring cinnamon rolls to his office and invite everyone in the courthouse to join him for coffee and cinnamon rolls.

(Attorney Robin Green)

So my week started with caffeine, cake and friends.  The perfect Monday morning!  Although here I am, running rapidly towards an afternoon post-caffeine, post-sugar crash. Now the question is, do I try to exercise a modicum of willpower and brace myself, or do I give in gracefully and go in search of tea and biscuits?!

4 thoughts on “Feeling the buzz.

  1. Tina Schell

    Count me in for a lovely cake with either coffee or tea – sadly I’ve kind of given them up but today I treated myself to some wonderful pumpkin spice bread from the local bakery and my mouth is watering just thinking about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

