No more chasing butterflies.

Mondays are usually a hectic start to the week, that makes me long for the weekend before the last one has even fully had time to disappear from memory. I know I’m not alone in that…there is a reason for the phrase ‘the Monday blues’!  But today has – so far – been lovely. It feels like it has been one of those days where there has been a snowball effect of positivity.  I woke up refreshed, my daughter has been unusually angelic all morning, and I’ve spent a lovely couple of hours playing with her and catching up with some good friends and eating cake.  A pretty good start to the week if you ask me, and all the better for being totally unexpected!

‘Happiness is like a butterfly; the more you chase it, the more it will elude you, but if you turn your attention to other things, it will come and sit softly on your shoulder’.

H.D Thoreau

I know the theory is that negativity and stress attracts more, and the mind is a powerful thing, so I can well believe it.  But it isn’t always easy to shake the (Monday) blues off, once they have kicked in, is it?  And endlessly striving to be chirpy and smiley when that is the last thing you feel like can be exhausting and deflating in its own way can’t it? Still, I am naturally inclined to see the bright side (most of the time!), and I do try to be a ‘glass half full’ kind of person.

So for today at least I am enjoying the rare serenity and happiness of a chilled out start to my week. I’m not going to force it, and I’m not even going to think about tomorrow or what the rest of the week may bring. I’ll just hope for more ups than downs, and not borrow trouble in the meanwhile. For now I’m just going to get a cup of tea and sit for five minutes, to enjoy the moment! Happy Monday for me, and here’s hoping yours is a good one too!

006a_111 copy

May the wings of the butterfly kiss the sun
And find your shoulder to light on,
To bring you luck, happiness and riches
Today, tomorrow and beyond.

Irish blessing.

15 thoughts on “No more chasing butterflies.

  1. Sarah Longes - Mirador Design

    Wise words Jenny 🙂 I love your Malachite butterfly photo too! I get to see them at RHS Wisley gardens in Jan/Feb when they do their Butterflies in The Glasshouse event! For me, chasing real butterflies is a wonderfully relaxing escape from all things mundane 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Hi Sarah, I know what you mean about escapism! I wish I could say that I’ve seen them in the wild, but I’ve not made it to that part of the world yet (although fingers crossed, one day!). This one was in the butterfly farm in Stratford upon Avon. I much prefer seeing any form of wildlife in their natural habitat, but I’ll confess I quite enjoyed the hour or so I spent in the butterfly filled warmth and humidity!

      Like

      Reply
        1. jenny Post author

          I haven’t been to the one in Devon (although I’ll bear it in mind for next time!) This was in my home town, Stratford upon Avon. Slightly off the beaten track and away from the thrumming tourist crowds – perfect!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Tidlidim

            Nice 🙂 Went to the one in Buckfastleigh, but was more interested in the cute otters that were playing in their sanctuary! But when I went to the Zoo in Rome, they had made a butterfly haven through which you could walk, and it was magical, totally felt like a kiddie again!

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. jenny Post author

              Otter sanctuary? Fantastic! Definitely will keep Buckfastleigh in mind now! The Rome butterfly walk does sound pretty special too, though. You’re like my own personal tourist information for butterflies! ;o)

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply

Leave a Reply

