Mini Matilda and Me!

Happy Roald Dahl Day!  I don’t know how many years it has been happening for, but even if this is only the first Roald Dahl Day, what a brilliant idea!  I am a huge Roald Dahl fan, as is my husband.  So it seems extra lovely that it happens to fall on one of the mere handful of days separating our birthdays.

Roald Dahl is, for me, one of the greatest (children’s book) writers of all time.  There are so many favourite Roald Dahl books and characters from my childhood; enduring classics that I absolutely be reading in turn to my own child.  Such favourites, in fact, that Matilda and Sophie were both serious contenders for names for our little girl.

“And don’t worry about the bits you can’t understand. Sit back and allow the words to wash around you, like music.”

Roald Dahl, Matilda.

006a_416 copy

Quality time with Granddad…

We have read to our little girl since before she was even born.  And we read to her every day, because it’s fun for her, and because we thought it was important.  Now she is walking, she goes to her book shelf or bookcase and chooses books, taking them to us or other people (sometimes people she has only just met!) so that she can be read to. I love her passion for books and I am thrilled to have played some small part in kindling that fire.

“So Matilda’s strong young mind continued to grow, nurtured by the voices of all those authors who had sent their books out into the world like ships on the sea. These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: You are not alone.”

Roald Dahl, Matilda.

006a_415 copy

Friends roped in to reading stories…

As parents we are worlds apart from Mr and Mrs Wormwood (I believe and hope!!), but I think our daughters may have their love of books in common, if nothing else. I can see that we’re going to need a bigger bookcase for the playroom, in any case!

006a_421 copy

Not yet walking, but making a beeline for the books.

“This allowed her two glorious hours sitting quietly by herself in a cozy corner, devouring one book after another. When she had read every single children’s book in the place, she started wandering round in search of something else.”

Roald Dahl, Matilda.

10 thoughts on “Mini Matilda and Me!

    1. jenny Post author

      Thank you Amy! I love watching her, snuggled up with people, totally absorbed in the story. So glad you liked it. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. Tidlidim

    Nothing better than reading stories to little ones ♥ One day, she’ll be reading some to you, and you’ll feel just as wonderful (my son’s read me a story based on the game Plants Vs. Zombies the other night, and managed to pick a different voice for each of the characters in the dialogues, it was great fun!) Anyway, like I said, I kept you in mind for an award, and I got tagged again 🙂 So if you feel like answering my questions, I’d be very honoured 🙂 Have a good weekend!
    http://tidlidim.wordpress.com/2014/09/13/yay-received-another-liebster-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      Story time is the best. I love that your boys read to you, and that they enjoy it enough to do it in character. Fantastic!

      Oooh, the pressure of being under the nomination spotlight! But also, what a lovely warm fuzzy feeling at the compliment. Thank you for a wonderful surprise. I’ll get my response out soon… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. jenny Post author

      I really hope so, Mamta. Book characters that stay with you for life really do feel like friends, I totally agree. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

