Animal attraction.

What I am interested in with birds, just as I am with spiders or monkeys, is what they do and why they do it.

David Attenborough

Image

What are you looking at?!

Love, love, love this quote from the absolute legend that is David Attenborough.  He is an all time hero of mine, and every time I see him narrating a wildlife programme or talking about his love for the natural world I feel a whole new respect and awe for a man who has dedicated his life to wildlife conservation, awareness and protection.

Today I decided to bite the bullet.  I have finally joined the National Geographic Society community, so I could participate in the ‘untamed‘ photographic assignment.  I’ve been a National Geographic fan for years.  Since I was a child.  And I have been standing on the sidelines for a while now, plucking up the courage to join in the photographic fun.

I adore some of the shots that have been shared so far for this assignment (over 10,000 already and still eleven days to go!).  And – as you would expect from the National Geographic – some of the contributors are massively talented and experienced wildlife photographers.  It is so incredibly inspiring just looking at their work.

But more than that, I love that there are that so many thousands of passionate wildlife watchers out there across the globe.  Many of them – including me – are just normal people, living normal lives.  I am not a professional wildlife expert, nor am I a professional photographer.  But I am proud to be someone who finds our big wide world fascinating, who pours over wildlife blogs and books and programmes.  And I am still childishly excited when I come across a new plant or animal I haven’t met before.

I think we all have a responsibility to care about the world we live in, and that starts small.  The intrigue that grows into respect and passion is the driving force behind my photos. The natural world around us is amazing, whether we are watching a wild monkey in the rainforests of Borneo, or a little spider in an English country garden.  We should all just appreciate the natural wonders we have in front of us.

 

Image

Green orb spider, sitting pretty on a rose petal.

 

Leave a Reply

