Orchid obsession.

Image

Yellow dendrobium orchid

Orchids hold a very special place in my heart.  Stunning crimson centred, white Phalaenopsis orchids featured heavily in my wedding bouquet.  As a popular symbol of beauty and refinement, orchids are a natural choice for a bridal bouquet.  I also like them for their less commonly known symbolic qualities of charm and thoughtfulness.  But it is not only the flower, but also its colour which is important when conveying meaning.  We gave buttery yellow orchids as gifts to family to mark the birth of our daughter, as yellow orchids represent new beginnings, which seemed a perfect choice.  Not that Ian had any idea about the depth of thought behind the plant and the colour when I suggested it! I also think that it is interesting how the language of flowers changes across the globe.  For instance, a Chinese friend tells me that in China, orchids are popular gifts for expectant parents as they are a token of fertility and successfully having many children.  So perhaps taking the Chinese approach we should have been receiving rather than giving orchids when our daughter was born?!

I find the hidden symbolism attached to flowers very interesting.  Immensely popular in Victorian England, but also commonly used in other parts of the world such as Japan and America, the language of flowers enabled friends and lovers to express their emotions in a society and time when it was highly unacceptable to say them out loud.  Modern British social culture enables far more freedom of expression than during the Victorian heyday of the language of flowers.  But there is something that still resonates for me in the careful, considered construction of a message through flowers.  So there was very deliberate planning behind my wedding flower choices.  Roses, pink stargazer lilies and orchids, with foliage including rosemary and bells of Ireland.  Beautiful, and with a loving message behind them. Perfect.

Living in South East Asia enables me to continue to indulge my passion for orchids.  Out here, cut flowers are pretty expensive, but you can find the most beautiful and unusual orchid plants for sale at the local markets for just a few Bruneian dollars. Long lasting, and far cheaper than an orchid back home.  Far cheaper than a bunch of flowers from the supermarket, come to that!

Image

Phalaenopsis orchid growing outdoors.

But as much as I love my growing collection of orchids, I prefer seeing them growing wild, or planted up in the trees in a more natural arrangement.  I am always struck by the incongruity.  So fragile and elegant looking, and yet tough as old boots, clinging on to tree trunks, taking everything they need from their host tree and the air around them.  I didn’t make it to the orchid garden at the Singapore Botanic Gardens on the way through, but seeing the wild orchids growing here in Bali reminds me how much I love them.  So perhaps it should be on the priority list for the return stop-over.  As the Singapore national flower is actually an orchid, the stunning Vanda Miss Joaquim, it would certainly seem fitting.

Leave a Reply

